Education in the USA

Education is such an important part in our world. What the students and kids learn today determines what the future will hold. Three articles that really put into perspective on where the USA is educationally are “Your Child Left Behind” by Amanda Ripley, “Grades and Money” by Steven Vogel, and “Students Don’t go to School to Learn,” by Paul Corrigan.

 

The “Your Child Left Behind,” article by Amanda Ripley reports on the USA standing in the world according to education. It was said that the USA only had six percent of the students preform at an advanced math level and that no state individually made it to the top 12 places for best education. Massachusetts had the best results in the USA according to, Amanda Ripley, with being in 17 place, while Mississippi was much higher in the rankings being equivalent to the students getting an education in Thailand and Serbia according to the study they used for this testing. Along with the testing they also looked at different tests  were they put in perspective of diversity, immigration, wealth and so on. The article goes on to explain reasons they believe the USA might be behind, some reasons dealing with the education and knowledge of teachers. This article defiantly taught me something new. I did not realize the USA was so far behind in our education. I would defiantly agree with Amanda’s reasoning in wanting to make it harder to become a teacher with more academic responsibilities. I also find it interesting that many countries with less financial support toward education are higher in the rankings then us. It makes me think that maybe our schools and states need to be placing the money we have in more important areas.

The next article, “Grades and Money” by Steven Vogel explores the reasoning of students relating grades to money. Vogel reminds us that students get and continue to receive scholarships and tuition for school grades. Once those grades start to drop they lose that money, therefor to them a good grade could potentially mean thousands of dollars. Also, students get good grades to get into a good grad program to one day eventually get a good job to get a lot of money. Its not about learning and wanting to enhance their knowledge, but about the best easiest way to get a good passing grade so in the future they will get money. Throughout my life experiences, I would have to agree with Vogel. Money is the one thing that is pushed on us college students. I did not go into a biology class because i want to learn more about biology but because i was required to, therefor my main purpose is to get a passing grade. That might sound bad but i have never enjoyed science, and the way the class is tough makes it had for me to understand what is going on. I just want to keep my grades up to keep my scholarship. Also, I will not go out of my way to go take a class that I am interested in if I don’t think i will do good in it or if its too expensive.

I looked up this last article called, “Students don’t Go to School to Learn” that correlates with what I believe and agree about the “Grades and Money” article. Paul explains how a teacher researched and found real reasons go to college. Learning was not important to the students. This justifies the reasoning of students not caring about enhancing their knowledge but rather what they can take way from it that will be fun. I know first hand that this is exactly how college students think.  ( Students Don’t go to School to Learn )

 

Leave a Reply

