Emotional Connection

Out of the three rhetorical strategies, ethos, logos, and pathos, I would say I feel more comfortable analyzing logos or pathos. Pathos would be easy to analyze because of the personal examples and stories but especially the pictures. Pictures always help me so much better. I think I would also feel comfortable analyzing logos because it deals with the logic of things. Using evidence, statistics  and common sense. I feel like this would be best for me to analyze because of the common sense and statistics. I am a very straight forward realistic logical person and thats how I think as well. I think it would be easiest to analyze the strategy that I think in most of the time.

When it comes to my writing, pathos and logos again would be the ones I would like to write in as well. Logos because of the logic and realistic part about it but I also like writing using pathos because of the emotional connection. When I talk, I am a very realistic, logical person. If something doesn’t add up or have evidence… then its a no go for me. So i defiantly understand peoples need for evidence and stats. Pathos is dealing with more of the emotional side of things as well as using visual aids, personal experiences and stories. I really think this helps me understand and write in a way that makes sense to me. I love telling things from my own experience or writing or reading things that can really impact people  emotionally.

Out of the three, pathos would be my favorite. I work at a non-profit christian organization where we do a lot of programs with kids and families. The organization ABIDE is centered in North Omaha, where I grew up. A lot of what we do has personal emotional connection to people. My dad even wrote a book about his experiences and stories of starting the organization and I loved it. I really like true stories with personal examples.

When I decided to take a business deca class in high school, I had to choose between a research project, a marketing project or a community service project. I chose community service because I felt like I was actually making a difference and I had an emotional connection to what I was doing. There was nothing better than seeing peoples faces who are so thankful and honored for the time and effort volunteers put in. I also think I chose that project because when it came time to present, they were all my own personal examples, stories and pictures. I had a real connection to the project and was enthusiastic and excited to share what we had done.

Here are my boards that I had made for my project with some outline of what our Better Together project looked like.

board 1 back board 1 front board 2 back board 2 front board 3 back copy board 3 front

Leave a comment