Why Rhetoric…

Rhetoric is something that plays a big role in things we do everyday without even realizing it. It has a great impact in our personal, academic and professional lives.Rhetoric deals with credibility (Ethos), stories, examples or emotional pull (pathos), or the reasoning of things and patterns (logos). Its so important because it helps up really think about what we hear or read and analyze why or how it is true and if it makes sense. Using Rhetoric thinking in a school, work or personal argument setting can only help.Arguments will be going on everywhere you go. Small to larger arguments, but arguments all the same. I think it really helps understand all the possible points of everything. It opens your mind to think in ways you might not have thought of before, as well as still looking for things to be sensible and accurate.

In regards to my personal life, the most obvious one would be pathos. Talking with people in an argument or even just a regular conversation always has a persons personal example or story that they tell. Also, many people tell you things are are suppose to make you feel bad for them or have some sort of emotional pull. Like if your best friend were to say, “I failed my test,” or “I lost my phone,” you in turn would fell bad or them…. pity (pathos).

Logos is the one that pops in my head first when I think of having a huge impact in my academic life. For sure the reasoning of things and why they are the way they are. I think really analyzing the logic behind things and why they are the way they are helps with with my academic life. I am for sure a question person so all the reasoning I can get always helps. Right now I am taking biology (which is so hard for me:/) and I am having a rough time in why organisms and cells do what they do. I need to analyze the reasoning behind why it is they divide or can create more copies of DNA. Once I can understand the reasoning behind things, it becomes so much easier to understand things.

Last but not least, I believe ethos works best to be connected to the professional level. When it comes to work, credibility is so important. Knowing the information you are using is correct. Making sure its logical and reasonable for those you are working with. In your work, being credible and being able to reason with someone is such a vital part of business.

Logos, Pathos, and ethos can be found in all settings of life, not just the examples I have pointed out. It really opens your mind to think in a new way that you never thought was necessary until you start to do it. I believe thinking rhetorically in every aspect in life can only help!

 

Leave a comment